Skip to main content
Topic: Messing around with 3D printing (Read 7344 times) previous topic - next topic

Messing around with 3D printing

I've been playing around with FreeCAD, mainly showing off on the AtariAge forums, but I also decided to try modeling a ThunderCat part. This is my first attempt, the blank panel where the antenna or T/C switches go.

I sent it out to Shapeways to see how well it fits. Once I refine the model, I plan to model all three variants, plus probably one with an extra-wide cutout.

I've tried to make a few design improvements along the way. The screw holes are reduced from 5mm to 4.5mm, and the plastic at the holes is 4mm thick. I've also rounded the insides of the shafts so the flat portion smoothly transitions to the sides. Hopefully these will result in much stronger screw-on points.

When I get the model from Shapeways I'll post pics. I chose the cheapest materal, "white, strong and flexible". I have other things in that material: it appears to be very strong, and it's slightly rougher than the stock plastic (nothing that light sanding wouldn't fix). It wasn't cheap ($75!) but the cost is based purely on volume so the blank version would be the most expensive.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
5.0L Speed density
Explorer intake
'92 Mustang GT cam
GT-40 racing heads
Unequal length headers
Custom-made duals
19# injectors
65mm TB
AFPR
T/C header panel
11" brake upgrade
T/C rear sway bar
Electrical mods: too many to list :D

Reply #1
seems like you know a lot more about free cad then I do!

if you were willing to give up the stl file, we could try printing it. it would need tweaked to print on a rep rap.
Quote from: jcassity
I honestly dont think you could exceed the cost of a new car buy installing new *stock* parts everywhere in your coug our tbird. Its just plain impossible. You could revamp the entire drivetrain/engine/suspenstion and still come out ahead.
Hooligans! 
1988 Crown Vic wagon. 120K California car. Wifes grocery getter. (junked)