Skip to main content
Topic: Valve Cover Gasket Replacement (Read 2148 times) previous topic - next topic

Valve Cover Gasket Replacement

ugh..

Grr...

Not looking good there at all..

I REALLY need to rebuild or replace this engine soon. =\ Hope she can make it through the summer. :punchballs:

Just when I thought she was okay for a while too. Any thoughts/suggestions? :shakehead
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
'86 Turbo Thundercat (Cougarbird)
'02 TrailBlazer LT 4x4
'08 Chevy Cobalt

Reply #1
Looks like leaky valve cover gasket.  Thats pretty darn easy to fix.
My car is a gravity hybrid.  The gasoline engine gets me up the hills, and gravity gets me down.

Reply #2
Quote from: 88CougarGT;323402
Looks like leaky valve cover gasket.  Thats pretty darn easy to fix.

Yeah, that gasket is definitely bad. I'm not too worried about replacing that part but its that milky colour that worries me. I was afraid it might be something more serious going on in there.

I'm no mechanic btw  I just fix things with lots of instructions and advice, and some trial an error often. :D
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
'02 TrailBlazer LT 4x4
'08 Chevy Cobalt

Reply #3
That milky oil is not leaking out of the valve cover...that's just oil and water mixing on the surface of the intake.  Unless your dipstick or the inside of your oil cap is covered in the stuff, it's nothing.

Go to the Ford dealer and get:

-F57Z-6584-A  - Ranger v/c gasket
-EV127A  - turbo-specific PCV valve (Take it out of the box, try and blow through the small end.  If you can, hand it back to them and have them get you another)

Don't get any other v/c gasket for a 2.3... period.
Long live the 4-eyes!  - '83 Tbird Turbo

Reply #4
Quote from: Chuck W;323406
That milky oil is not leaking out of the valve cover...that's just oil and water mixing on the surface of the intake.  Unless your dipstick or the inside of your oil cap is covered in the stuff, it's nothing.