Skip to main content
Topic: 1986 2-3l turbo xr-7 (Read 857 times) previous topic - next topic

1986 2-3l turbo xr-7

in short -how can i add 60 to100 hp in my stock 2-3l 4 cyl vin w 1986 cougar xr-7 5 speed- without spending alot of money

1986 2-3l turbo xr-7

Reply #1
...nitrous...:burnout:

1986 2-3l turbo xr-7

Reply #2
I am no 2.3 expert, but you'd probably get close to your goal by adding an intercooler, 87-88 5-speed computer,  and TC hood (that would bring you to 87-88 spec and give you ~35 horses right there). Keep your T3 turbo, which is bigger than the IHI used in the 87-88, and crank up the boost with a Gillis valve (with this you might not even need the 87-88 TC computer - like I said, I'm no expert) and you could probably easily pick up another 30 or so horses...
2015 Mustang GT Premium - 5.0, 6-speed, Guard Green - too much awesome for one car

1988 5.0 Thunderbird :birdsmily: SOLD SEPT 11 2010: TC front clip/hood ♣ Body & paint completed Oct 2007 ♣ 3.55 TC rear end and front brakes ♣ TC interior ♣ CHE rear control arms (adjustable lowers) ♣ 2001 Bullitt springs ♣ Energy suspension poly busings ♣ Kenne Brown subframe connectors ♣ CWE engine mounts ♣ Thundercat sequential turn signals ♣ Explorer overhead console (temp/compass display) ♣ 2.25" off-road dual exhaust ♣ T-5 transmission swap completed Jan 2009 ♣

1986 2-3l turbo xr-7

Reply #3
A free flowing exhaust system would also be must... With that & what's been suggested, you'll have to add more fuel, which usually means larger injectors or at least more fuel pressure... If it runs lean from lack of fuel, you can possibly do damage to the pistons or at least pop the head gasket...

Maybe some of the half motor guys can be more specific, like Carmen I'm no 2.3T expert...

1986 2-3l turbo xr-7

Reply #4
^^^What he said.