Skip to main content
Topic: My $200 '88 Cougar..she's so purty! (Read 1560 times) previous topic - next topic

My $200 '88 Cougar..she's so purty!

Hi all, I'm new to both the forum and as a Cougar owner.  (Please be gentle..lol) 

I actually lucked into my Cougar because the original owner..(yep, I'm the 2nd owner), was going to sell her to a kid that had no appreciation for older vehicles.  All he wanted was to donk her and make her into a lowrider.  I couldn't let that happen because this car was just too cherry, too purty, and only cost $200.00. :D 

She's got all original parts with one exception: the window toggles in the center console didn't work, so a new additional pair was installed right below the original pair.  She runs great but does have some mechanical issues that need to be addressed: driver's auto lock doesn't work, digital speedo is off and bulb behind it needs replacing, full tune up because only the basic fluids and maybe an air/oil filter have been done since original purchase.

Structurally there doesn't seem to be too much work to be completed: the dash has a 3'' crack across the top, center console is slightly askew due to mechanical repair, both visors have small 1.5'' tears, trunk needs a new seal, and there are 3 areas of rust that need addressing.

Anywho..here are the pics of my baby.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

~In less enlightened times, the best way to impress women was to own a hot car. But women wised up and realized it was better to buy their own hot cars so they wouldn't have to ride around with jerks. ~
--Scott Adams.--

~Did you ever notice when you blow in a dog's face he gets mad at you? But when you take him in a car he sticks his head out the window. ~
--Steve Bluestone.--

Reply #1
Nice steal for $200
FOXLESS!!

1994 Lincoln Mark VIII

Reply #2
very nice!!!! whats are your future plans for it?
Never drive faster than your guardian angel can fly.
:birdsmily: :birdsmily: :birdsmily::birdsmily: 
  [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]