Skip to main content
Topic: NewB to the forums (Read 1793 times) previous topic - next topic

NewB to the forums

Hi all, Ive been watching the forums here on and off for a while, picking up information and opinions.  I have a 1985 Thunderbird élan that I have been driving for nearly 4 years now.  I finally decided to stop sitting on the sidelines, just watching, and actually join in.  I do have a CarDomain page, it's listed in my sig.  You can see all the pictures of "Natalie" there but I figured I would post a few here too.

It took me a year to do the body work and repair all the dents and scratches that were in the body when I bought it.  The biggest problem was the "clear coat" that Ford applied to the paint.  It was all flaking off like a sunburn and it took a really long time to clean up.  I did a lot of the detail painting myself since I was on a tight college budget.  Maaco did the Viper Race Yellow with their single stage polyurethane paint for just over $300.  Over the next few months I did details and some small fixes to the car.  It has just over 111000 miles on it, original engine.  I added some fog lamps, a small sub in the backseat, sequential turn signals, thunderbird decals (from bobwhitedecals.com), and a true dual exhaust (curtesy of my friends at Midas, when everyone else in town said it couldnt be done.)