Skip to main content
Topic: EEC-V cougar to EEC-IV 5.0 HO, can it be done? (Read 2430 times) previous topic - next topic

EEC-V cougar to EEC-IV 5.0 HO, can it be done?

I'm skeptical because I'm a newbie. I have done a lot of research on this and since I am good w/ electronics(my biggest woory), I have hope and determination, and this should get me through w/ a little advice from guys like you.
O.K. to the point, here is my situation, I have a 1996 3.8 V6 cougar. I love this car, so much that I could afford to buy a new car, but don't want one. I want this one! However, a V6 is just unnacceptable for a toy car.
My biggest concern w/ this project is what I stand to lose by pulling out the EEC-V(if that is what's in it) wiring harness and replacing it w/ the EEC-IV harness from 87 cougar 5.0 w/ SD & computer from the 92 mustang. I have already addressed the MAF conversion, but I'm concerned about the gauges (check engine light, speedometer, etc..), the ignition wiring, and what will not work afterwards (AOD-E?, airbag[not too worried about this], etc..).
These things seemed to have thwarted my plans, and I'm not ready to give up on this. I am willing to rewire the pins on the EEC-IV to mate w/ my system, no direct plugins necessary, as long as I know they are all going to the right places and I know what I stand to lose ahead of time.
Any advice you guys can give would be immensely appreciated. :bowdown:

Reply #1
Hey, I like this guy, you should help him out!

Reply #2
what you are suggesting is possible, but you'll be much better off using a 1991-1993 5.0L cougar/tbird engine and harness. In fact, what would be ideal is to use a 1991-1993 cougar t-bird engine and harness, keep your current tranny (4R70W) and use a 1994-1995 5.0L mustang auto processor. You'll only have to do minor re-pinning to integrate the harness and processor, it will fit your car because the harness will be from the same chassis, and best of all you'll retain the computer controlled tranny.