Skip to main content
Topic: How hard is it to pull the oil pan on a turbo coupe 2.3l, manual trans? The reason is (Read 2440 times) previous topic - next topic

How hard is it to pull the oil pan on a turbo coupe 2.3l, manual trans? The reason is

I might be interested in buying an 87 turbo coupe. The owner says the engine has Weisco pistons, and JE forged connecting rods along with main cap studs.

Here is the sticky wicket. The guy also has another turbo 2.3l car so the receipts for the pistons/rods could be for the other car, or he might have swapped the "built" engine to his other car.

Not saying the guy is lying, or anything, but business is business, and it would really suck to get the car home only to find stock rods, and pistons after paying the premium price for the other parts.

I'm a mechanic so pulling a pan wouldn't be a huge issue if I had the car at my shop, however I need to know how hard it is as in doing it at the owners house.

The only fair way to do this is to offer the owner $100 to hold while I pull the pan. If the parts he says are in the car are in fact in the car, then the $100 goes toward the purchase of the car. However, if I pull the pan, and find stock rods, and no studs then I would get my $100 back, and reinstall the pan.

If the parts turned out not to be there, then obviously that would cast doubt on the rest of the parts that are supposed to be on the car, not to mention the machine work that was done would also be in question.

FTR, I do know that an oil pan on a 5.0l engine is a pain to pull on a Fox Mustang without jacking the engine up with an engine puller [even then with the trans bell hitting the fire wall its almost impossible to get that pan out].

Thanks in advance.

How hard is it to pull the oil pan on a turbo coupe 2.3l, manual trans? The reason is

Reply #1
From what I've heard it's a real pain to take out while the engine is in the car but it can be done
The engine will at least have to be lifted up