Skip to main content
Topic: T-5 problem..... (Read 3245 times) previous topic - next topic

T-5 problem.....

When I put the shifter into first gear, more often than not, it pops out when I let off the clutch. POP!!!. Not sure what the issue is. I'm no expert on the T-5. The other gears are all fine. What causes this? I'm guessing repairs or replacement is in order.
'88 Sport--T-5,MGW shifter,Trick Flow R intake,Ed Curtis cam,Trick Flow heads,Scorpion rockers,75mm Accufab t-body,3G,mini starter,Taurus fan,BBK long tube headers,O/R H-Pipe, Flowamaster Super 44's, deep and deeper Cobra R wheels, Mass Air and 24's,8.8 with 3.73's,140 mph speedo,Mach 1 chin spoiler,SN-95 springs,CHE control arms,aluminum drive shaft and a lot more..

T-5 problem.....

Reply #1
....and no, I'm not going back to an automatic.
'88 Sport--T-5,MGW shifter,Trick Flow R intake,Ed Curtis cam,Trick Flow heads,Scorpion rockers,75mm Accufab t-body,3G,mini starter,Taurus fan,BBK long tube headers,O/R H-Pipe, Flowamaster Super 44's, deep and deeper Cobra R wheels, Mass Air and 24's,8.8 with 3.73's,140 mph speedo,Mach 1 chin spoiler,SN-95 springs,CHE control arms,aluminum drive shaft and a lot more..

T-5 problem.....

Reply #2
Sounds like maybe 1st gear isn't fully engaging. Do you have an aftermarket or oem shifter?

Rebuilding it isn't hard if you have to.

86' T/C 4.6L DOHC
16' Chebby Cruze 1.4L Turbo
17’ Peterbilt 389 600hp 1850ftlb Trq 18spd

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

“Heavy Metal Mistress”
[/COLOR][/SIZE]

T-5 problem.....

Reply #3
Aftermarket shifter. The trans has been in for about 4 years or so. No issues at all until about a month or so ago.

T-5 problem.....

Reply #4