Skip to main content
Topic: more info on Digital Speedo self-test please (Read 2331 times) previous topic - next topic

more info on Digital Speedo self-test please

Hi, I'm new to this whole message board thing and I'm looking for more information about the digital speedo self-test functions.  Iknow the 1990's aerostars and rangers were capable of speedometer calibration adjustments through their own self-test modes and was hoping we might find something similar on our own cars.
 any thoughts?

Re: more info on Digital Speedo self-test please

Reply #1
yes the speedo has a self test feature but as far as the speedometer calibration adjustments ,, your gonna have to elaborate a tiny bit more as to what your are after here :confused:

to run a speedo self test,,(someone out there remind me of what it was i posted on the other site if i get this wrong),,,
hold the trip set button ,or maybe the trip reset button and then turn your key on.

your speedo will show a bunch of codes and you can keep hitting one of those trip buttons and it will cycle thru tests for the speedo module only.

you cant calibrate your speedo from this test that i am aware of.,, but bondocougar may have heard of this since he stumbled across some other neat eec info lately.

bondocougar, you out there?

Reply #2
To elaborate on what I mean - on the ranger/aerostar speedo, according to info I've found elsewhere, the speedometer readings can be adjusted to compensate for rear gear ratio and/or tire size changes.
 Check out ford-trucks.com
 I realize that these are different units but wondered whether they might share some functional similarities.  Worth looking into, I think.  All those dealer-only modes got me wondering.
  thanks

Reply #3
I'm pretty sure that was a feature only available in newer models.

Reply #4
Yup, I agree, there is no built in feature for calibration that I'm aware of for these years.