Skip to main content
Topic: Idle Surge - 1984 5.0 Thunderbird, CFI, EEC-III, Duraspark III (Read 32890 times) previous topic - next topic

Idle Surge - 1984 5.0 Thunderbird, CFI, EEC-III, Duraspark III

Hello Gentlemen,

I've been visiting this forum a lot for a long time now, ever since I first started to love Fox body Fords. This is my first time actually making a post, as I have finally encountered a problem I can't nail down. I've seen a lot of problems get solved on this forum. I'm hoping mine can soon be one of those.

Here's everything I know so far:

The Car:

- 1984 Ford Thunderbird (my second Fox-Bird)
 - 5.0L (302 CID)
 - CFI (Central Fuel Injection)
 - EEC-III (No OBD or self test connector. Limited trouble code ability available by attaching a 12V test light to one of the solenoids.)
 - Duraspark III (Non-adjustable timing. Distributer is basically just a shaft with a gear on one end and a rotor on the other. Computer judges spark advance/retard using a crankshaft position sensor.)
 - Recently redid the exhaust system. Ditched the old pipe and replaced it with some 2.5 inch truck pipe I had lying around. Glasspack ler.
 - Removed the A/C because it didn't work and was in the way.
 - New air filter, recently changed all fluids and filters (including fuel filter).
 - New ignition switch.
 - Added water temp, oil pressure, and volt gauges.

The Problem:

... is a surging rough idle that occurs only in park and neutral. The rough idle and surge exist at any RPM. If I shift into any other gear the surge stops, the engine smoothes out and any other negative sounds disappear. The car drives like normal (actually it drives GREAT). No stall or hesitation. The surge immediately returns if I shift back into neutral or park. The only other symptom is high NOX in my last smog test. (Test was done yesterday. Everything else tested well within the "green".)

What I've tried so far:
 - New rotor, plugs, dist. cap, plug wires.