Skip to main content
Topic: 302 speed density to 351W Fuel injected questions?? (Read 3839 times) previous topic - next topic

302 speed density to 351W Fuel injected questions??

OK, I have made up my mind, and I will going with a fuel injected 351W based stroker in the cougar. I currently have a speed density non ho 5.0, I have mass air conversion kit for the 302, can I use the 302 computer for the 351 or do I have to order a computer for the 351? Someone from another site said they are the same, but I am skeptical. Forgive my stupidity but I am fairly new to fuel injected fords.

Reply #1
When you do the mass air conversion, what computer are you going to use?  I would  assume A9L or auto mass HO 5.0 computer.  If that is your plans than that is a well supported EEC-IV computer.  You can get Quarterhorse(the chip) and software and adjust the engine size, fuel injector size and boat load of other things.  Then you would have the ability to tune the fuel curve, if you use a mass air EEC-IV setup.  You could also get the Pimp engine management system that plugs into the EEC harness, which is a megasqirt 2 setup.  You have several options.  Its a good time to modify EEC4 fuel injected fords....

There are no SFI 351 computers that Im aware off....except the 250 1995 Mustang Cobra R.... good luck finding one of those!

Good luck with your swap.

What tranny?

Travis

Reply #2
I have a built AOD (5000rpm shift point) with 2500 stall the poor non ho 5.0 can barely make 5000rpm!!. The mass air kit came with a maf calibrated for 42# injectors and the computer is an EEC-IV with a C3W code.

I am gonna go with AFR heads and trickflow 351W intake, when is this is gonna happen, who knows? I really should just put the turbo kit and wait for it to blow up before rip the motor out as everything is here and paid for. It is good to know it is the same computer. Does the distributor need to be changed??

Reply #3
Quote from: canadiancarguy;381769