Skip to main content
Topic: Teddy and Cad-T-Bird at the track, first time with room to improve. (Read 2828 times) previous topic - next topic

Teddy and Cad-T-Bird at the track, first time with room to improve.

Took the T-bird to the track tonight, test and tune and street legal only.  Before you laugh too much remember that I’m new to this.  I always wanted to do it but have only done it once before, two years ago for two runs.  A perfect reaction time for this track is 000 so I'm very slow.

T-Bird at the track 9-23-05, First run.         
Run   1   2   3   4   5   6
Time   5:41pm   6:22   6:45   7:01   7:12   7:20
R/T   1.067   0.516   0.610   0.425   0.580   0.555
60   1.997   2.043   2.071   2.037   2.068   2.005
330   5.813   5.876   5.949   5.866   5.951   5.813
1/8 mile   8.903   9.033   9.125   8.980   9.158   8.932
MPH   79.28   78.45   78.26   80.81   77.73   78.68
1000   11.601   11.755   11.834   11.698   11.883   11.633
1/4 mile   13.863   14.051   14.115   13.971   14.156   13.893
MPH   97.19   97.85   98.43   98.95   98.87   99.19
Lane   Left   Left   Left   Left   Right   Right

It was really strong to about 3800RPM but fell flat after that.  The best times were when I shifted from first to second at 3800RPM.  Also I would be way ahead of the car next to me only to have him past me at the end.

I think I have an electrical problem.  I installed a new rev limiter before I left (set to 5,500) and I think it was making me miss off and on.  Also I drove home in the dark with the headlights on and the battery was dead when I got home.  Too late to check anything tonight but I think that rev limiter will be removed (don’t really need it anyways) and I will check the plugs to see how they look.  Might also be running lean at the top end?  With this cam I should be pulling to at least 5,000rpm.

Also my local car club has what they call the 100mph club, but I did not quite make this goal.