Skip to main content
Topic: Struts.... (Read 1291 times) previous topic - next topic

Struts....

Alright, I did a search and found a couple dozen threads, read them all and now I'm more confused than I was to start with.

I need a definative answer here before I spend $300 on struts.

I now have '87/88 T/C spindles, disks and calipers sitting here ready to go on the cat butI need to know what struts are going to work. Understand, I want a stiffer strut than the stock 5.0 cat strut. With that in mind, what is going to bolt on easy and work properly? I'm planningon getting some Koni's but I need to know if the Stang struts are going to work properly.

No speculation, please. If you have DONE it and you're happy with it let me know.

Struts....

Reply #1
Mustang struts will work, ask me how I know ;)
One 88

Struts....

Reply #2
I used the yellow Konis and loved them.
D2

Struts....

Reply #3
Konis are going to be about as good as it gets, I have no experience with Bilsteins or Konis, but both are considered premium.  Bilsteins are factory on Cobras and you could pick up a take off set really cheap.  SN95 struts bolt right on perfectly and work great.  I currently have blue Tokicos for an SN95 on my TC and I really loved them for a stock replacement, they give a good firm but very comfortable ride.  They are non-adjustable.  Most parts store struts seem to ride worse and handle worse.

I'm not sure if you want to shell out the money for new Konis if you aren't going to go very far with the suspension but they probably are as good as it gets outside of MM valved Bilsteins which can get expensive and obviously that's not what you're going for.

The stock Cobra Bilsteins might be a consideration though...
Long time Turboford freak...
84 SVO
88 TC
87 XR4Ti

Struts....

Reply #4